Skip to content
Some companies pay us when you click through to them. Scores come from published facts. Some companies pay us when you click through. Disclosure
BestBots

Instantly vs Smartlead: Pricing, Deliverability and Which to Pick

The two most searched cold email senders, compared on published prices at three volumes and on what users report going wrong.

By , research by the BestBots team · Updated Oct 18, 2026

Fact checked against each company's published pricing, documentation and verified user ratings. How we score

BestBots is reader supported. When you click through to a company we may earn a commission, and partnerships can affect which companies appear and where. Scores come from the published facts on each page. Disclosure

Pick Instantly if you send more than about 10,000 emails a month or want an AI agent to source and write for you: $97 buys 125,000 emails. Pick Smartlead if you run an agency or send at low volume: it starts at $39, bundles verified prospect emails and sells white label workspaces at $29 each.

Instantly logoInstantly4.0

High volume cold email platform with unlimited sending accounts and warmup, a 450M+ lead database and an AI Sales Agent on bundle plans.

From $47 per month (flat monthly by email volume, lead credits separate)

Visit Instantly
vs
Smartlead logoSmartlead3.8

Cold email sending platform with unlimited mailboxes, warmup, a master inbox and white label client workspaces for agencies.

From $39 per month (flat monthly by email volume)

Visit Smartlead

Side by side

SpecInstantlySmartlead
BestBots Score4.03.8
Starting price$47 per month$39 per month
Pricing modelflat monthly by email volume, lead credits separateflat monthly by email volume
Free trialSign up without a credit card; trial length not stated on the pricing pageFree trial, no credit card required; 50% off the first month
Price per seatNo per seat fee: from $47 per month flat (Growth), $97 for 125,000 emailsNo per seat fee: from $39 per month flat (Base)
Contacts or credits1,000 to 100,000 uploaded contacts by plan; lead credits from $47 per month or bundled from $942,000 to unlimited stored contacts; 2,000 to 170,000 verified prospect emails a month included
Email sendingUnlimited email accounts and warmup; 5,000 to 500,000 emails a monthUnlimited mailboxes with warmup; 6,000 to 500,000 sends a month
Data sources450M+ B2B lead database with waterfall enrichmentBuilt in prospect finder with verified emails; database size not published
LinkedInNot listed on the pricing pageNot listed on the pricing page
CRM syncExport to major CRMs; Instantly also sells its own CRMBuilt in CRM from Pro; external CRM integrations are not itemized on the pricing page

The short answer

Both tools do the same core job. You connect or buy many sending mailboxes, they warm them up, rotate sends across them and route every reply into one inbox. Both include unlimited mailboxes and warmup on every plan, so you never pay per mailbox for the software.

The differences are in how they package volume, data and AI:

  • Instantly prices outreach by monthly email volume and sells lead data separately. Its bundles add lead credits plus an AI Sales Agent and an AI Reply Agent.
  • Smartlead prices by email volume too, but every plan includes a monthly allowance of verified prospect emails, and it sells agency tools (white label, client workspaces) and infrastructure add ons.

Pricing

Monthly billing, as listed on each pricing page in October 2026.

Plan Instantly Smartlead
Entry Growth $47: 5,000 emails, 1,000 contacts Base $39: 6,000 sends, 2,000 contacts, 2,000 verified emails
Mid Hypergrowth $97: 125,000 emails, 25,000 contacts Pro $94: 90,000 sends, 30,000 contacts, 30,000 verified emails
Upper mid Scale bundle $194: 100,000 emails, 5,000 lead credits, AI Reply Agent Unlimited Smart $174: 150,000 sends, unlimited contacts, 50,000 verified emails
High Light Speed $358: 500,000 emails, 100,000 contacts Unlimited Prime $379: 500,000 sends, 170,000 verified emails
Annual discount About 20% on outreach plans ($37.60, $77.60, $286.30); 10% on bundles 17% ($32, $78, $144, $315)
Lead data Credits from $47 a month, or bundles from $94 Included in every plan
AI agent AI Sales Agent in bundles from $94 Not listed
White label Not listed $29 per client workspace per month

Cost at three volumes

  • 6,000 emails a month: Smartlead Base $39 covers it exactly. Instantly Growth $47 caps at 5,000, so you would need Hypergrowth at $97. Smartlead wins.
  • 100,000 emails a month: Instantly Hypergrowth $97 covers it with room to spare. Smartlead Pro tops out at 90,000, so you need Unlimited Smart at $174. Instantly saves $77 a month, or $924 a year.
  • 500,000 emails a month: Instantly Light Speed $358 against Smartlead Prime $379. Close, with Smartlead including 170,000 verified emails that Instantly would charge extra for.

If you need fresh contacts every month, add data to the Instantly side. Its $94 Starter bundle (5,000 emails plus 1,500 lead credits) is the closest like for like to Smartlead's $39 Base, which makes Smartlead far cheaper at low volume when you need data.

Smartlead's add ons can change that math. SmartDelivery inbox testing runs $49 to $599 a month, SmartServers $39 each and SmartSenders mailboxes $3.99 to $9 each. Budget for at least one if you send at scale.

Features

Sending and warmup. Both offer unlimited mailboxes, warmup and a unified inbox. Instantly's Light Speed and Agency tiers add an SISR system with dedicated IPs. Smartlead sells dedicated SmartServers at $39 each and includes 3 in Prime.

Lead data. Instantly lists a 450M+ B2B database with waterfall email enrichment, billed in credits. Smartlead includes verified prospect emails in every plan but does not publish its database size.

AI. Instantly is ahead. Its AI Sales Agent takes your website URL, finds buyers, writes, sends, follows up and books meetings, and the Scale bundle adds an AI Reply Agent. Smartlead's pricing page lists no AI agent.

Agency tools. Smartlead is ahead, with white label workspaces from the Pro plan and 3 included on Prime.

Channels. Both are email first. Neither lists LinkedIn automation on its pricing page.

Reviews and trust

This is where both tools look weakest, so read reviews before you commit annually.

Trustpilot has suspended Instantly's TrustScore for a breach of its guidelines. Of 1,178 reviews, 66% are five star and 26% one star. The one star reviews cluster around a no refund policy, hard cancellation, surprise subscriptions, campaigns that stopped sending and slow support.

Smartlead scores 2.9 from 142 reviews, with 45% five star and 47% one star. The complaints are bugs, slow support, chasing refunds and domains getting blacklisted.

Neither tool can protect a bad list or a brand new domain. Verify addresses before sending, keep your sending domains separate from your main one, and ramp volume slowly.

Who wins for each scenario

Solo founder sending under 6,000 emails a month: Smartlead. $39 with 2,000 verified emails included is the cheapest complete start.

Growth team sending 50,000 to 125,000 emails a month: Instantly. Hypergrowth at $97 is the lowest published price for that volume.

Lead gen agency with many clients: Smartlead, for $29 white label workspaces and client separation.

Team that wants AI to find and write: Instantly, whose bundles from $94 include the AI Sales Agent. For a more complete AI SDR with LinkedIn, compare Reply.io's Jason in our best AI SDR guide.

Verdict

Instantly is the better pick for most in house teams because its mid tier is the cheapest per email and its bundles add an AI agent. Smartlead is the better pick for agencies and very low volume senders. Both carry real billing and deliverability complaints, so start monthly, test with a small list, and only switch to annual once your bounce and reply rates hold for a month.

Frequently asked questions

Is Instantly or Smartlead cheaper?

Smartlead is cheaper to start at $39 a month against $47. Instantly is cheaper at mid volume: $97 buys 125,000 emails a month, where Smartlead charges $94 for 90,000 or $174 for 150,000. At 500,000 emails they are close, $358 for Instantly and $379 for Smartlead.

Which has better deliverability, Instantly or Smartlead?

Neither publishes independent inbox placement data, and both draw deliverability complaints in Trustpilot reviews: stalled campaigns and spam placement at Instantly, blacklisted domains at Smartlead. Both include unlimited mailboxes and warmup. Your domain setup, list quality and daily volume per mailbox matter more than the tool.

Does Smartlead have a lead database?

Yes. Every Smartlead plan includes verified prospect emails each month, from 2,000 on Base to 170,000 on Unlimited Prime. Smartlead does not publish the size of the database behind it.

Does Instantly have an AI SDR?

Instantly sells an AI Sales Agent on its bundle plans, from $94 a month. According to Instantly, it reads your website, finds matching buyers in its 450M+ database, writes personalized emails, runs follow ups and books replies onto your calendar.

Which is better for agencies?

Smartlead. It sells white label client workspaces at $29 each per month from the Pro plan, and Unlimited Prime includes 3. Instantly has an Agency bundle at $555 a month with 500,000 emails and a dedicated IP system, but no white label pricing is listed.

Do Instantly and Smartlead offer free trials?

Smartlead offers a free trial with no credit card and 50% off the first month. Instantly lets you sign up without a credit card, but its pricing page does not state a trial length.

Can I use Instantly or Smartlead for LinkedIn outreach?

Neither lists LinkedIn automation on its pricing page. If you need email plus LinkedIn in one sequence, look at Lemlist ($109 per user a month on Multichannel) or Reply.io (LinkedIn at $69 per account).

Sources

  1. 1.Instantly pricing
  2. 2.Instantly AI Sales Agent
  3. 3.Instantly on Trustpilot
  4. 4.Smartlead pricing
  5. 5.Smartlead on Trustpilot