Skip to content
Some companies pay us when you click through to them. Scores come from published facts. Some companies pay us when you click through. Disclosure
BestBots

ChatGPT vs Grok: Which AI Assistant Fits You in 2026

Both sell a ladder from $8 to $200 or more. The difference is what you get on the way up: OpenAI's tool set or live X search and video.

By , research by the BestBots team · Updated Oct 18, 2026

Fact checked against each company's published pricing, documentation and verified user ratings. How we score

BestBots is reader supported. When you click through to a company we may earn a commission, and partnerships can affect which companies appear and where. Scores come from the published facts on each page. Disclosure

ChatGPT is the better pick for most people: Plus at $20 runs GPT-6 and includes Codex, image creation and the widest set of connectors. Grok is the better pick if you follow news on X, want image and 15 second video generation in one chat, or code in Cursor, but its recommended Premium tier costs $30.

ChatGPT logoChatGPT4.6

OpenAI's general AI assistant for chat, writing, images, voice, agents and coding, with plans from free to $500 per month.

From $8 per month (per seat)

Visit ChatGPT
vs
Grok logoGrok4.0

The AI assistant from SpaceXAI (formerly xAI), with live X search, image and video generation, sold alongside X subscriptions.

From $8 per month (per seat)

Visit Grok

Side by side

SpecChatGPTGrok
BestBots Score4.64.0
Starting price$8 per month$8 per month
Pricing modelper seatper seat
Free trialNone listedNone listed
Free planYes, unlimited everyday text chats on GPT-5.6 Luna with tool limitsYes, limited chat and agent requests
Paid from$8 per month (Go, ad supported); Plus $20 per month$8 per month (Plus); Premium $30
Top model on paid planGPT-6 on Plus; GPT-6 Pro (GPT-6 Astra) on ProLatest Grok models on Premium; Grok 4.7 is xAI's current flagship
Image generationYes, on all plans with plan limits; higher quality on PlusYes, Grok Imagine images up to 2K and 15 second video
Voice modeYes, voice chats on Free with limits, more on Go and upYes

The short answer

  • Choose ChatGPT for writing, research, coding, voice and images, with a cheaper standard tier and the larger review base.
  • Choose Grok for live news and X search, image plus video generation and API access bundled into a consumer plan.
  • Skip Grok Plus at $8 for serious AI use. xAI itself recommends Premium for new AI users, and Plus is largely an X subscription with a shared AI pool.

Pricing

Tier ChatGPT Grok
Free $0, GPT-5.6 Luna, unlimited everyday chats $0, limited chat and agent requests
Entry Go, $8 per month (ad supported) Plus, $8 per month (X Premium checkmark, shared AI pool)
Standard Plus, $20 per month Premium, $30 per month (4x Plus usage)
Power Pro, $100 or $200 per month Super, $100 per month (15x Plus usage)
Top Pro, $500 per month Ultra, $200 per month (50x Plus usage)
Team Business, $25 monthly or $20 annually per seat Teams, from $30 per user per month
Enterprise Contact sales Custom

The two ladders look alike, but the bundles differ. Grok plans include X social perks, from the checkmark on Plus to a mostly ad free X on Premium. If you do not use X, part of what you pay for has no value to you. ChatGPT Go at $8 carries ads in ChatGPT itself and stays on the smaller GPT-5.6 Luna model.

At the standard tier, ChatGPT is $10 cheaper per month, $120 per year. On teams, ChatGPT Business is $10 cheaper per seat on annual billing.

Plan details: ChatGPT pricing and Grok pricing.

Models and features

ChatGPT Plus runs GPT-6; Pro adds GPT-6 Pro. Grok Premium runs the latest Grok models, and xAI's docs list Grok 4.7 as the current recommended model for chat and code, with a 500K token context window on the API. API prices for Grok 4.7 are $2 to $4 per million input tokens and $6 to $12 per million output tokens, tiered by prompt size.

Feature ChatGPT Grok
Live social search Web search X and web, live
Image generation Yes, every plan with limits Yes, Grok Imagine up to 2K
Video generation Not listed on Plus Yes, up to 15 seconds
Voice mode Yes Yes
Coding agent Codex on Plus and up Grok Build; usage pool shared with Cursor
API access in plan Separate API billing Grok API access on paid plans
Connectors Google Workspace, Microsoft 365, Slack, GitHub X, Cursor, Grok API
Context window Not stated on pricing page 500K tokens for Grok 4.7 (API)

Head to head scenarios

Following breaking news

Winner: Grok. Live search across X and the web is its defining feature. ChatGPT searches the web, but it does not pull from X in real time.

Creating images and short videos

Winner: Grok. Grok Imagine makes images up to 2K and videos up to 15 seconds in the same chat. ChatGPT is strong on images but does not list video on Plus.

Everyday writing and work tasks

Winner: ChatGPT. Memory, projects, the Work agent and connectors for Google Workspace, Microsoft 365 and Slack make it the better daily work tool, and it costs $10 less at the standard tier.

Coding

Winner: ChatGPT for most developers, because Codex is included on Plus. Grok is a fair choice if you already work in Cursor, since xAI shares its usage pool with Cursor and includes API access.

Long documents

Winner: Grok on stated numbers. xAI publishes a 500K token context for Grok 4.7 on the API. OpenAI does not state a ChatGPT context window on its pricing page, so ChatGPT may be close, but we cannot confirm it.

Business use

Winner: ChatGPT. Cheaper seats, SSO, no training on business data by default, and 4.6 on G2 from 3,109 reviews. Grok Teams starts at $30 per user and has 4.1 on G2 from 58 reviews, a thin base for a buying decision.

Privacy

OpenAI states ChatGPT Business does not train on business data by default, and Enterprise adds retention controls and a Compliance API. Grok Teams lists SSO plus admin and spend controls. xAI's privacy policy page was not reachable when we compared these plans in October 2026, so read it directly before using Grok for work data, and remember that Grok plans are tied to X accounts.

On the App Store, both apps are rated very high: Grok 4.9 from about 1.5 million ratings, ChatGPT 4.8 from about 11.4 million.

Verdict

ChatGPT is the stronger all round assistant at a lower standard price, with a coding agent and far deeper business reviews. Grok wins on live X news and video generation, and makes sense if X is already part of your day. Start with ChatGPT unless real time X coverage or video is the reason you are shopping.

Read the ChatGPT review and Grok review, or compare Grok alternatives.

Frequently asked questions

Is Grok better than ChatGPT?

Grok is better for live news and posts from X, and it bundles image and short video generation. ChatGPT is better for most other work: it has more tools, a coding agent on Plus, broader connectors and a much larger business review base. For most people ChatGPT is the safer single pick.

How much is Grok compared to ChatGPT Plus?

Grok Plus is $8 per month and Premium is $30. ChatGPT Go is $8 and Plus is $20. Since xAI recommends Premium for new AI users, the realistic comparison is $30 for Grok against $20 for ChatGPT Plus.

Can Grok generate images and video?

Yes. Grok Imagine creates images up to 2K and videos up to 15 seconds, with image and video creation on Premium. ChatGPT creates images on every plan, with higher quality on Plus, but OpenAI's pricing page does not list video generation on Plus.

Which is better for coding, Grok or ChatGPT?

ChatGPT for most people, because Codex is included on Plus. xAI shares its Grok usage pool with Cursor and includes Grok API access on paid plans, which helps developers who already code in Cursor.

Does Grok use posts from X?

Grok's main draw is live search across X and the web, so answers can draw on recent public posts. For how xAI handles your own chats, read its privacy policy before sharing sensitive material.

Is there a free version of Grok?

Yes, Grok Free includes limited chat and agent requests. ChatGPT Free is more generous on text, with unlimited everyday chats on GPT-5.6 Luna and separate limits on tools.

Which is better for teams?

ChatGPT Business is $20 per seat per month billed annually or $25 monthly, with SSO and no training on business data by default. Grok Teams starts at $30 per user per month with pooled usage, SSO and spend controls. ChatGPT is cheaper and better reviewed for business use.

Sources

  1. 1.Grok pricing, SpaceXAI, 2026
  2. 2.Grok models (xAI docs), SpaceXAI, 2026
  3. 3.ChatGPT plans and pricing, OpenAI, 2026
  4. 4.App Store lookup data, Apple, 2026
  5. 5.GPT-6 and other models in ChatGPT (OpenAI Help Center)
  6. 6.ChatGPT Enterprise
  7. 7.ChatGPT on G2
  8. 8.ChatGPT on the App Store
  9. 9.ChatGPT on Trustpilot
  10. 10.OpenAI: Introducing study mode
  11. 11.OpenAI: Introducing parental controls
  12. 12.OpenAI terms of use (effective January 1, 2026)
  13. 13.Grok product page
  14. 14.Grok on G2
  15. 15.Grok on the App Store
  16. 16.Grok on Trustpilot