Skip to content
Some companies pay us when you click through to them. Scores come from published facts. Some companies pay us when you click through. Disclosure
BestBots

ChatGPT vs Claude: Which AI Assistant Fits You in 2026

Same $20 price, different strengths. Here is how the plans, models, coding agents and limits compare on the published facts.

By , research by the BestBots team · Updated Oct 18, 2026

Fact checked against each company's published pricing, documentation and verified user ratings. How we score

BestBots is reader supported. When you click through to a company we may earn a commission, and partnerships can affect which companies appear and where. Scores come from the published facts on each page. Disclosure

ChatGPT and Claude both cost $20 per month, so the choice comes down to what you do. Pick ChatGPT if you want the broadest tool set, including image creation, voice and the cheapest entry plan. Pick Claude if you mostly write long documents or code, since every paid plan includes Claude Code and up to 1M tokens of context.

ChatGPT logoChatGPT4.6

OpenAI's general AI assistant for chat, writing, images, voice, agents and coding, with plans from free to $500 per month.

From $8 per month (per seat)

Visit ChatGPT
vs
Claude logoClaude4.5

Anthropic's AI assistant for writing, analysis and coding, with Claude Code included on every paid plan.

From $20 per month (per seat)

Visit Claude

Side by side

SpecChatGPTClaude
BestBots Score4.64.5
Starting price$8 per month$20 per month
Pricing modelper seatper seat
Free trialNone listedNone listed
Free planYes, unlimited everyday text chats on GPT-5.6 Luna with tool limitsYes, Sonnet and Haiku with session limits
Paid from$8 per month (Go, ad supported); Plus $20 per month$20 per month (Pro), $17 per month billed annually
Top model on paid planGPT-6 on Plus; GPT-6 Pro (GPT-6 Astra) on ProOpus on Pro; Fable on Max (50% of weekly limits) or via usage credits on Pro
Image generationYes, on all plans with plan limits; higher quality on PlusNo image model listed; Claude Design, Slides and Docs on all plans
Voice modeYes, voice chats on Free with limits, more on Go and upYes, on all plans
Coding agentCodex on Plus and up; Free and Go get GPT-5.6 Terra in CodexClaude Code on every paid plan
Ages13+; parent or guardian permission under 1818+ under consumer terms

The short answer

  • Choose ChatGPT for an all purpose assistant: chat, images, voice, the Work agent, Codex, and plans from $8 to $500 per month.
  • Choose Claude for long form writing, analysis of big files, and coding, with Claude Code bundled at no extra cost and a published Enterprise price.
  • Tie on team pricing: both charge $20 per seat per month billed annually and $25 monthly.

Pricing

Both vendors now sell a ladder from free to $200 per month and beyond, and the rungs line up closely.

Tier ChatGPT Claude
Free $0, GPT-5.6 Luna $0, Sonnet and Haiku
Entry Go, $8 per month (ad supported) None
Standard Plus, $20 per month Pro, $20 monthly or $17 annually
Power Pro, $100, $200 or $500 per month Max, $100 (5x) or $200 (20x) per month
Team Business, $25 monthly or $20 annually per seat Team, $25 monthly or $20 annually per seat
Premium team seat $125 monthly or $100 annually $125 monthly or $100 annually
Enterprise Contact sales $20 per seat per month billed annually, plus usage at API rates

A few differences matter in practice. ChatGPT has the $8 Go tier, which Claude does not match, but Go carries ads and runs GPT-5.6 Luna rather than GPT-6. Claude has an annual discount on Pro that OpenAI's page does not show for Plus, which makes a year of Claude Pro $200 against $240 for ChatGPT Plus. At the top, ChatGPT offers a $500 Pro tier for the heaviest users, while Claude Max tops out at $200 but adds $100 to $200 per month in API credits.

For a company, Claude's Enterprise price is published and usage based, so cost tracks how much your team actually runs. ChatGPT Enterprise requires a sales call. Team size limits also differ: ChatGPT Business covers 2 to 200 people, Claude Team 2 to 150.

Models

ChatGPT Plus runs GPT-6 in Chat, at Medium and High thinking levels. Pro adds Extra High and GPT-6 Pro, powered by GPT-6 Astra, which OpenAI lists for Pro $100, Pro $200, Business and Enterprise. Free and Go users get GPT-5.6 Luna. OpenAI notes that GPT-6 Pro has weekly limits even on Pro.

Claude's pricing page names model families rather than versions. Free gets Sonnet and Haiku. Pro adds Opus. Fable, Anthropic's top tier, is available on Pro only through usage credits and on Max at 50% of weekly limits. Anthropic's newsroom lists Opus 5.5 (September 22, 2026), Sonnet 5.5 (September 28) and Haiku 5.5 (October 7) as the latest releases. Context runs up to 1M tokens depending on model.

OpenAI does not state a context window on its pricing page or models help article, so we cannot compare that number directly.

Features

Feature ChatGPT Claude
Image generation Yes, every plan, higher quality on Plus Not listed; Claude Design, Slides and Docs instead
Voice mode Yes Yes, every plan
Coding agent Codex on Plus and up; Terra model for Free and Go Claude Code on every paid plan
Agents Work agent on Plus; Dots always-on agents on Pro Hand off and schedule tasks on Pro
Web search Yes Yes, every plan
Memory Expanded on Plus, maximum on Pro Yes, every plan
Projects Larger projects on Plus Up to 5 on Free, unlimited on Pro
Office integration Google Workspace, Microsoft 365, Slack, GitHub Microsoft 365 and Outlook on Pro; Chrome extension
Storage 20 GB on Plus, 100 GB on Pro Not stated

ChatGPT's advantage is breadth. Images, personal finance tools, email and calendar connections and a dedicated Work agent all come with Plus. Claude's advantage is depth on text and code: the long context, Claude Code sharing one usage pool with chat, and Research on Pro.

Usage limits

Neither vendor gives a message count. Claude's limits reset on a rolling 5 hour window with weekly caps on paid plans, and all use across web, desktop, mobile and Claude Code draws from one pool. Pro gives at least 5x Free per session; Max gives 5x or 20x Pro. When you run out, paid plans can switch on usage credits billed at API rates.

ChatGPT limits vary by model and thinking level. Free and Go have unlimited everyday text chats, subject to abuse safeguards, with separate tool limits. Work and Codex usage is tracked separately from Chat. On Pro $200, hitting the weekly GPT-6 Pro limit drops you to GPT-5.6 Thinking at Medium.

Who wins for writing

Claude, on the facts that matter for writers: up to 1M tokens of context for long manuscripts and research packs, Projects to keep sources together, and Claude Docs on every plan. ChatGPT is close and better if your writing needs images, since it can create them in the same thread.

Who wins for coding

Claude for most solo developers, because Claude Code is included on Pro at $20 and draws from the same pool as chat, so there is one bill and one limit. ChatGPT is a strong alternative: Codex comes with Plus, and Free and Go users even get the GPT-5.6 Terra model in Codex at no cost. For full time coding, compare ChatGPT Pro $100 with Claude Max $100.

Who wins for teams

A tie on price, with differences in shape. Both charge $20 per seat annually, let you mix standard and 5x premium seats, and state no training on business data by default. ChatGPT Business supports up to 200 users and connects to Google Workspace, Slack, GitHub and Microsoft 365. Claude Team supports up to 150, adds enterprise search and up to $500 per month in pooled API credits, and its Enterprise price is published.

Who wins for everyday use

ChatGPT. The free plan gives unlimited everyday text chats, Go costs $8 for more, and image creation and voice are there from day one. Its 4.8 App Store rating from over 11 million ratings is the largest review base in the category. Claude's 4.7 from about 281,000 ratings is strong but much smaller.

Verdict

For most people, ChatGPT is the safer single pick because it does the most things at every price point. If your work is long documents, analysis or code, Claude gives you more for the same $20, with Claude Code included and a cheaper annual plan. Try both free plans for a week on your own tasks; the limits and style differences show up fast.

Frequently asked questions

Is Claude better than ChatGPT?

It depends on the job. On the published facts, Claude is the stronger pick for long documents and coding, with up to 1M tokens of context and Claude Code on every paid plan. ChatGPT is broader, with image creation, more voice options and a $8 entry tier.

Is ChatGPT Plus or Claude Pro cheaper?

Both are $20 per month on monthly billing. Claude Pro drops to $17 per month if you pay $200 up front for a year. OpenAI's pricing page does not show an annual discount for Plus.

Which is better for coding, ChatGPT or Claude?

Both bundle a coding agent with the chat plan: Codex on ChatGPT Plus and Claude Code on Claude Pro. Claude Code shares one usage pool with chat, while OpenAI tracks Work and Codex usage separately from Chat. If coding is your main use, compare the $100 tiers, where both vendors give much higher limits.

Can Claude generate images like ChatGPT?

Claude's pricing page does not list an image generator. It does list Claude Design, Slides and Docs for visual layouts and documents. ChatGPT includes image creation on every plan, with higher quality on Plus.

Which has bigger usage limits?

Neither publishes a fixed message count. Claude Pro gives at least 5x the Free plan's usage per 5 hour session with weekly limits. ChatGPT limits depend on the model and thinking level, and GPT-6 Pro has weekly allowances even on Pro.

Is my data used for training?

On consumer plans, Claude lists model training as opt out on Free, Pro and Max. ChatGPT Business and Claude Team both state that business data is not used for training by default.

Should I pay for both?

Most people should not. Pick the one that matches your main job and stay on monthly billing for the first month to see if the limits fit. Heavy coders sometimes keep both, since each vendor's coding agent has separate strengths.

Sources

  1. 1.ChatGPT plans and pricing, OpenAI, 2026
  2. 2.GPT-6 and other models in ChatGPT, OpenAI, 2026
  3. 3.Claude plans and pricing, Anthropic, 2026
  4. 4.ChatGPT Enterprise
  5. 5.ChatGPT on G2
  6. 6.ChatGPT on the App Store
  7. 7.ChatGPT on Trustpilot
  8. 8.OpenAI: Introducing study mode
  9. 9.OpenAI: Introducing parental controls
  10. 10.OpenAI terms of use (effective January 1, 2026)
  11. 11.What is the Max plan (Claude Help Center)
  12. 12.Anthropic newsroom
  13. 13.Claude on G2
  14. 14.Claude on the App Store
  15. 15.Updates to consumer terms and privacy policy (Anthropic)
  16. 16.Anthropic privacy policy
  17. 17.Claude on Trustpilot
  18. 18.Anthropic consumer terms (effective October 8, 2025)